School Board Meeting

The Lampasas ISD Board met Monday evening for their regular monthly meeting. All board members were present except Ryan Shahan.

Newly re-elected board members David Millican and Kirk Whitehead were sworn into office by Benjie Tischler and the board voted unanimously to seat Dan Claussen as president for 2016-2017. Bill Brister was elected Vice President, and Kirk Whitehead was elected secretary.

The board agreed to a consent agenda, which included some notifications of resignation of professional personnel at LISD. Some of those resignations included Manny Perez, Spanish teacher and baseball coach and BJ Crawford, History teacher and coach. They then voted to give the LISD superintendent authorization to approve and execute employment contracts for teaching personnel for the succeeding school year over the summer break.

In the area of new hires, David Edgar is now on as Director of Maintenance of LISD and Calvin Pittman is now Director of Child Nutrition.

A bid was awarded to M.W. Hail Construction for up to $82,615 for roofing renovations at the Lampasas Middle School cafeteria, and to authorize the facilities steering committee to make change orders up to $20,000.

Another bid was awarded to Carter Construction in an amount not to exceed $70,000 for track resurfacing at Lampasas High School, and to authorize change orders up to $20,000.

A heartfelt thank you to Dr. Randy Hoyer was given by board members for his service as superintendent of LISD. The meeting last night was Dr. Hoyer’s last, as the LISD Superintendent, as he retires and is replaced by Dr. Chane Rascoe.

Due to the board’s next regular meeting date being the 4th of July, the meeting was moved to July 11.